4,274 replies
photoSIG Cafe
3,975 discussions
53,175 replies
Critic's Corner
1,340 discussions
16,809 replies

Start a new discussion

From yahn/Eric (2,871) Send mail to this user on January 27, 2012 6:59:57 PM CST

Hi everyone, I'm a wedding and portrait photographer I'm shooting a wedding and reception in Feb. The reception is being held at a venue that is styled like a log cabin. Lots of natural would/ I normally use a Stofen diffuser or aLumiquest 80-20 diffuser when I cover receptions. Any bounce flash at all I expect will be prety warme because of all of the natural wood. I would like to balance my flash with anbient light as much as possible. I'm considering placing a full cut CTO gel on my flash and shooting tungsten white balance for amore natural look. Any thoughts or input on this idea would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Read 374 times

From sheenawilkie/Administrator (0) This user is a Premium Member This user is an Administrator Send mail to this user on January 27, 2012 9:21:42 PM CST

Are you not shooting in RAW? You can adjust WB in post even with the gel. I hardly ever bounce my flash in wedding venues. So little control. I prefer to diffuse my external flash and dial it down. I get a much more controlled natural light.

From tab62/Thomas (4,276) Send mail to this user on January 27, 2012 10:26:40 PM CST

Bingo! I love RAW - total control on some many elements to include wb

From del/Administrator (0) This user is an Administrator Send mail to this user on January 28, 2012 9:29:18 AM CST

But RAW does not resolve the problem of mixed light if it is not consistent across a frame. So, not total control if you have sunlight from a window or light from a burning candle in one part and tungsten or fluorescent in another part of the same frame. Depending on your camera and WB settings, either one area will be off or the whole frame will; usually the smaller area.